Dear Mascara – I hate/love your face

what have they done to you?

I have such a love/hate relationship with mascara. Isn’t it fun to go to the store and try on a fresh coat? It always looks so nice and then an hour later…flakes, smudge, poop.

A few years ago I found my one and only Chantecaille Faux Cils Mascara. It lasted for 6 months and quite honestly I could have held out for a refill longer (you might think that’s gross, but it’s only used on my eyes so I don’t really care). Then, on my 3rd refill, I noticed something in the formula changed. It dried out a lot sooner and even flaked.

Sad, but not defeated, I tried some other options: DiorShow Backstage Makeup, YSL Volum Effet Faux Cils, and Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara and they were just okay.

I’ve been using Hourglasses’ Film Noir Mascara for the past year, but it’s no match for my pre-2009 CFC mascara. I’ve heard good things about Diorshow Iconic, Giorgio Armani’s Eyes to Kill Excess, and Chanel’s Inimitable Intense Mascara but maybe it’s time I Barrymore it up and hit the Drugstore for this one…

Let me know if you have any recommendations!

