Samples 101

sample abyssWhen I was in hotlanta last week, I went to Sephora with my momma and big sis to help them find specific products. I provided some product recommendations to them, but insisted they get samples first.  As you might already know, I am a huge proponent of try it before you buy it, so asking for samples is something I always do when trying new products. But I immediately noticed their hesitancy to ask for samples.

Since I am a “beauty product lady of the night”, I did not understand such reservations. But then I remembered that most people are not very comfortable with the idea of asking for free, especially, custom made samples and that some people may have had a bad experience with a sales rep before who gave them a hard time.

As I outline in, “How?” asking for samples is perfectly fine. If someone cops an attitude then they’re really bad at their job and shouldn’t be working in the beauty industry. I can recall only one rude encounter I had and I simply did not return to them the next time. And one bad experience out of thousands (yes, thousands) is pretty good.

So most people I have worked with at major department stores or beauty specific retail shops are passionate about finding the right products for you and are more than happy to provide samples.

I will, however, note that it’s in good taste to not be a sample hog either. I only ask for samples of items that I am genuinely interested in or that the beauty consultant recommends.

And if you’re in the Seattle area and want a “personal shopper” for beauty products let me know and I can head on down with you. I’ll  show you where to go, who to see, what to ask for, and we’ll have loads of fun! I just did this with my bff a few weeks back and we had a blast.

