Hair of the Masks

As I’ve already discussed, I have a crazy thick mound of hair. I’ve tried some super pricey hair masks like Shu Umera’s Shusu Sleek, Oribe’s Signature Moisture Mask, and Kerastase’s Oleo Relax Slim Mask. If you have the extra cash I highly recommend all of these (esp. Oribe…I’ll write a post for this later on; so luxurious).

Like facial treatments (exfoliants, masks, etc.), hair treatments/masks are very important to do 2-3 times a week.

But I just had got a fat parking ticket, so budgeting is on my mind today. So here are some less expensive options; you won’t be disappointed with these two keepers.

  • Ojon’s Dry Recovery Mask: You’re going to go into Sephora, smell this, and say: “Damn that Female Chaplin! Why is she recommending a product that smells like bark?”. Well… because the key ingredients are extracted from a magical tree in the rainforest. And Ojon is so cool that they don’t put a bunch of crap synthetic fragrances to mask–pun intended–other, less desirables for the good old olfactory receptors. Use just a little bit and it goes a long way. I noticed my hair was extra soft every time I used it. And you only leave it in for 2 minutes. I do not like masks that require 10-15 minutes. What the hell am I supposed to do in the shower for that long?!
  • Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Hair Mask: I really like this line of products and I love that the founder just started the whole thing from her kitchen. The Monoi mask is really concentrated and has a nice, silky texture. Plus it strengthens your hair, which is great for weak or color treated hair. You also only need to leave it on for 5 minutes (though I usually did 3 and it worked very well).

Sephora carries both of these products, so head on down, grab a sample, and try them out for yourself!

