Affordable Beauty Lines

the a-teamAfter reading reports on the rising unemployment rate and the DOW plunge, I thought it would be good to list some of my favorite–more affordable–skincare lines.

And no, this doesn’t mean heading to the drugstore. Luckily you won’t have to. As much as I lament about kindle downloads eclipsing hard copy book sales or how iTunes shuffle syndrome has practically rendered the full-album-listen obsolete, we live in a great time for health and beauty.

You can go to the store and there are huge gluten-free sections. Veganism and vegetarianism have never been easier (unless you can’t live without cheese and sashimi like me).

Same thing with beauty products. You can go into Sephora or Whole Foods and find high quality brands without the high price tag.

With that said, I’d like to list some of my favorite brands that won’t break the bank, have quality ingredients, and are often eco/socially conscious. And they don’t require a trip to the drugstore…hiss…

  • Ren: Great, reputable line. Their Rose Serum is one of my favorite products of all time. Check out their 5 key principles and all the crap they exclude from their products.
  • evanhealy: I’m starting to explore this line and really liking it. Have some more research to do, but I’ve tried a sample of the Rosehip Facial Serum and it’s quite lovely! Evan herself is an aesthetician who “…borrowed from the wisdom of nature utilizing many certified organic ingredients such as nourishing nut and seed oils, herbal extracts, homeopathically prepared flower essences, pure plant hydrosols, and fresh, steam-distilled essential oils to create her cleansing milks, serums, creams, emulsions, butters and natural clays.” My local Whole Foods carries it, so check out them testers fellow Whole Foodsters.
  • Boscia: A nice, simple “preservative-free” line. I’ve only tried the Clear Complexion Tonic and the Blotting Linens (which are ab-fab), but their skincare philosophy is right up this lady’s alley. And the prices are very reasonable considering the quality ingredients they include in their products.
  • Korres: They ride rock the skincare and makeup wave. My lovely sis digs the Wild Rose Brightening Cream and I keep the shea butter lip balm in my purse at all times (fav color is pomegranate!). And their cleansing wipes are amazing. I always use them before hot yoga if I am sporting makeup. And their formulations are sans the wicked skincare triumvirate: mineral oil, propylene glycol, and ethanolamines. Some products do, however, contain dubious characters (e.g. phenoxyethanol ), but overall this line is great.
