Shampoo Swapping – Is it necessary?

femilady’s usual suspects

As a product lady of the night, I’d answer “hell yes it is”. I love trying new products and I really enjoy variety. But the sensible side of Femilady–which rarely makes an appearance–wonders whether it’s a bogus assumption.

From personal experience, I have pretty healthy and lustrous hair considering the amount of bleaching & hot yoga this mop endures. It has a lot to do with the quality products I use, but I like to think that variety helps.

I did my research and came across this little gem from hairstylist Wesley O’Mara, who styles the famed tresses of Uma Thurman, Chloe Sevigny (love her), and Queen of the Curls Sarah Jessica Parker!

Here are his thoughts:

I suggest switching it up, because hair can get bored just like us! Sometimes product can start to build up and your hair can develop a tolerance over time. This can be avoided by switching out the shampoo every so often. Stay with your favorite conditioner, that doesn’t need to change because it doesn’t clean the hair, it just deposits healthy goodness.

That seems like a good enough reason to switch it up. But in reality, I’d swap it up regardless since variety is truly the spice of life.

