Protein Power

I never understood the whole protein-centric diet. Obviously protein is necessary, but the diets that prohibited fruits and other healthy carbohydrates always sounded like a Draconian form of punishment to Femilady. No fun.

Alas, I have to make sure I get enough protein since my addiction to hot yoga is a little out of control. It’s so out of control that I’m doing a 6 hour yogathon at my beloved Urban Yoga Spa this Saturday. Yes, I need a life.

But I’ve never been a fan of meat, eggs, and all that business. Partly ethical and partly just taste, so I have to rely on nuts, beans, and other sources of plant-based protein.

In my quest to find some awesome non-meat/dairy protein power, I found Vega One Protein Powder.

The tagline says it all: Clean, plant-based nutrition. 

And here’s what one serving of Vega One Protein Powder includes:

  • 50% daily intake of vitamins and minerals
  • 15 g protein
  • 6 g fibre
  • 1.5 g Omega-3
  • Antioxidants
  • Probiotics
  • Greens

Every day for the last 2 months I’ve had one shake per day. It tastes awesome and makes me feel awesome.

Here’s how I take my Vega One:

  • 1 banana (I peel and then freeze bananas in freezer-safe bags so I always have them available)
  • Crushed Ice (approx 1 cup)
  • Filtered Water (approx 1.5 cups)
  • 1 tbsp of Peanut Butter
  • 1 Scoop of Vega One (Chocolate Flavor)
  • Pinch of Kosher Salt (optional)

Throw it all in a blender and you have a radtastic milkshake.

If chocolate-banana-peanut butter combo isn’t your thing, check out all the recipes!

I seriously look forward to it every day. It doesn’t have that chalky-gnarly taste or that artificial-blah taste and it’s very filling.

Vega One offers one-serving packets available at Whole Foods so you can test different flavors. And Whole Foods will take it back if you no likey. And that’s one of the many reasons why Femilady hearts Whole Foods.

