Ingredient Checklist: What to Avoid

no gracias el creepsters

Oftentimes, we’re more attracted to a product based on what ‘fancy ingredients’ are in it versus what’s not in it.

I mean, it sounds cool when there’s a top secret-magical-miracle ingredient, but in many cases, the promoted ingredient isn’t the main ingredient. And it can be surrounded by some shady companions.

I really wasn’t super vigilant about checking ingredient lists until I started to subscribe to Dr. Al Sears‘ newsletter. I don’t always agree with him–big proponent of meat eating, whereas I am more of a Forks Over Knives lady myself. And a lot of the newsletters involve sales pitches–though I guess that’s pretty standard these days.

But he always provides valuable information and tips and I feel like I learn a lot every morning–whether I agree with him or not.

And I love it when he discusses skincare/beauty products. Here’s his list of ingredients to ALWAYS avoid in your skincare routine

These toxic “worst offenders” zap moisture, cause dryness, redness and cracking, attack your DNA, and may damage your organs and accelerate aging:

PEG
Polysorbates
Laureth
Ethoxylated alcohol
Propylene glycol
Sodium laurel
Lauryl sulfate, or sodium laureth sulfate (sometimes labeled as “from coconut” or “coconut derived”)
Parabens
PABA (also known as octyl-dimethyl and padimate-O)
Toluene, also called benzoic, benzyl, or butylated hydroxtoluene
Phenol carbolic acid
Acrylamide
Octyl-methoxycinnamate (OMC)
Mineral oil, paraffin, petrolatum

So break out the products–if you dare–and check it out.

This doesn’t mean you have to throw everything away–I’m no angel with this stuff; I have plenty of products that include these ingredients.

But  think of it like your diet…start replacing certain items with “cleaner” options to become a healthier, more beautiful you!

