To Tone or Not to Tone? That is the Question…

And the answer is…

…it depends.

For me it is. For some people it isn’t.

Remember my golden rule of “what works for others may not work for you” and vice versa especially when it comes to skincare.

But here, I will share why I use toner at least twice a day (post shower and before bed):

  • Removes any excess makeup post face wash. Even if you use a clarisonic, you’re bound to have a little residue leftover. Using toner ensures that you’ll get every last bit of grime off of that lovely mug.
  • Removes gnarly properties from water. Unless you wash your face in filtered water, it’s likely that some harsh metals, chemicals, etc. are getting onto your face. It is somewhat minor, but I like to play safe when it comes to my face.
  • Can have specific benefits for your skin, depending on what type. I find toners that not only purify, but provide hydration. Make sure to find one that benefits your skin the most.
  • Your face will feel so fresh and so clean, clean. Especially if you use some of my recommendations below. If you use a toner with alcohol as a main ingredient, however, you’ll feel like you’re punishing your face–a Femilady no, no. For instance, there’s a notorious alcohol-filled toner–you know what I’m talking about–that could do more harm than good to your skin.

Here are some of my favorite toners:

Good. As noted in an earlier post, I love(d) Caudalie’s Toner. But when I took a closer look at the ingredients, I saw more than a handful of ingredients that make me a bit uneasy. That said, I never had any skin issues using it and it gave me a smooth/clean finish.

Better. I really like Bosica’s Clear Complexion Tonic with Botanical Blast. Used it a last year and it was a simple, no frills tonic, but that’s kind of the point.  REN’s new Clarifying Lotion Toner is also really good and has been useful these summer months when the skin gets a bit grumpy with the warm weather, but it does contain a teensy bit of alcohol (second to last ingredient) which could be bad news for sensitive skin. But most of the ingredients are quite lovely (like lavender, willow bark). So it’s not quite 100% Femilady approved, but pretty darn close.

fit for a princess–or duchess

Best. This one is very simple, can’t beat the ingredients, and it’s affordable: It’s called Duchess Marden’s Damascena Pure Rose Water. First, take a look at that beautiful bottle. Fit for royalty.

Here’s a snippet on why Rosewater–in general–is a great toner from LiveStrong.com:

It is a natural mild antiseptic and is recommended for acne and skin irritation, for nourishing and hydrating the skin and face…Rosewater also maintains the pH balance of the skin. It stimulates the regeneration process and has a calming effect on acne, dermatitis and eczema.

Now, not all rosewater concoctions are good. There are some sneaky ones that contain rosewater, but they throw in a bunch of undesirables for some reason. But I love Damascena Pure Rose Water because…

  1. It works well
  2. It feels good
  3. It smells good
  4. It’s sans artificial ingredients, parabens, and chemical preservatives.
  5. It boasts just these beautifully simple ingredients: 100% pure Rosa damascena (rose) water, Rosa bourbonia (rose) oil, Lonicera japonica (Japanese honeysuckle) extract.

And please share your favorite toners here, or reasons why you don’t use toner!

