New Health Trend in the World of Tea

I love tea. As previously posted, I drink a few cups of Oolong & Green tea a day and I totally dig them.

Whether or not they provide the health benefits that are widely touted, I always feel great after. And it’s a much healthier alternative to coffee, sodas, etc.

Since I heart variety, I started doing more research into the world of tea. One that struck me was “Red Tea” which is derived from South African red bush. It’s better known as “Roobios” and has a subtle, sweet taste, so no sweeteners needed.

Even better, it has some great health benefits:

…rooibos has flavonoids that act as antioxidants, making it popular with the health conscious. It is also low in tannins compared to most black teas, and is caffeine-free. Rooibos is rich in many minerals including iron, calcium, potassium, copper, fluoride, manganese, zinc, magnesium and alpha hydroxy.

In addition to providing minerals and antioxidants that boost bone health and skin quality, the US Department of Agriculture, according to Organic Facts, claims that roobios tea red rooibos tea can help ward off cancer, heart disease, and some skin ailments like eczema.

Whether or not all of these claims hold weight, I still include roobios in my tea brigade primarily because it tastes delightful and makes me feel great.

My personal favorite is The Republic of Tea’s Organic Double Red Roobios Tea. Delicious!

