Girl, I’m Gonna Miss You: Smashbox’s Artificial Light in Glare

“like a fairy tale, you were so unreal”

Interesting fact: Femilady’s favorite band when she was a wee lass was Milli Vanilli. I cried when the lip sync scandal broke and refused to burn/break my cassette tape like all those other turncoats.

One of my favorite songs–and seriously I still love it–was Girl, I’m Gonna Miss You. It’s amazing.

So when I was on my “Pretty and Practical” mission and rummaging through mounds of products in my bathroom, I found an almost empty bottle of Smashbox’s Artificial Light in “Glare”.

Now Smashbox still makes “Artificial Light” but not in my color.

While a lot of highlighters reflect light, this particular color gave you the “lit from within” look. It was truly the perfect color for my cheekbones, brow bone and cupid’s bow.

I suppose I can try one of the 3 colors Smashbox now offers, but none have that pearly, iridescent look that “Glare” provided. And sometimes I like to feel sorry for myself.

Rest in peace, my precious.

Do you have any beloved products that have been abruptly discontinued? Can you not bear the depravation? How do we petition such injustice? If “Jericho” could be saved by fans from cancellation, anything is possible.

But in the meantime…for all the bereft beauties out there, I feel your pain.

And now I’d like to end with some poignant Milli Vanilli lyrics:

Like a honey bee
You took the best of me
Now I can’t erase those memories
Like a fairy tale
You are so unreal
You left a scar that’s so hard to heal
When you had a taste of paradise
Back on earth can feel
As cold as ice
I’m gonna miss you

