Tipping Points: How to treat your stylist right

Here’s an equation that even I can understand:

Femilady + math = a giant crapcluster

It’s true. It’s so true, it hurts my head. Thinking about it right now is plunging me into a deep, dark, dumpy place.

So when it comes to tipping, I get really flustered. Not only does it involve math, but it’s always a mystery to me what is “not generous enough” and what is “too generous”/” just plain crazy”.

And sometimes I just don’t know! 10%? 25%? 40%? 10000%?

I want to be the best beauty/bar patron I can be, especially when I encounter such glorious service.

I did some research and found this amazing infographic from HuffPost. Here are the ones most applicable to Femilady:

Hair Stylists: 15-20% of the total cost of service

Massage Therapists: 15-20% of the total cost of service

Manicurists/Pedicurists: 15-20% of the total cost of service

Bartenders (sorry, had to add it): 10-15% of the total cost of service (although I disagree with this one because I usually go to 30% after 2 drinks. Oopsies!).

Now my beloved aestheticians aren’t included here, but they’re definitely in the 20% range.

Of course, experiences and results vary, so you can definitely stray from these guidelines based on the quality of service.

But if you heart your bearer of beauty (or booze) and are satisfied with the results generously rewarding them for their specialty is always a Femilady “do”.

And if you’re like Femilady and still can’t bear the math, check out this handy little mobile app.

I never said I was smart, but damn it, I’m resourceful!

