Flatiron Faux Pas

t3microsinglepassFor the first time in a long time, I broke out my trusty flatiron.

Lately, I’ve been relying on my curling iron to rock the wave/curl look since my hair can’t make up its mind. Straight in front, really wavy in the back. It’s a little Michael Bolton-ish circa 1993, which was hot to many bored housewives in 1993. But if you’re a lady two decade later, not so much. And unfortunately, that’s not my target demographic.

Then I got bored and wanted a style change. Instead of chopping it off or coloring it, I decided to re-style it. But my flatironing skills were a little rusty, so I thought I’d do some digging on straightening best practices. What’s the best heat setting? What products should I use to prep the mane? How can I avoid this look?

Allure to the rescue! Herewith are there 6 flatiron don’ts from Allure & a handful of hairstylists:

  1. Cranking up the heat — all the way.  ‘You don’t need 450 degrees…410 works for every hair type’ says hairstylist Nathaniel Hawkins.
  2. Forgetting protection.  ‘Not enough people use thermal protectors,’ says hairstylist Matt Fugate. Look a no-hold formula like  Tresemmé Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Spray
  3. Running Over (and Over) Curls. Get hair as straight as possible before ironing by stretching out each section with a brush. Then slide the iron slowly and steadily in a single pass. ‘Don’t stop and go, or you’ll get horizontal lines,’ says hairstylist Garren.
  4. Going Board Straight.  Instead of ironing hair straight, parallel to your face, move your arm in a C shape as you proceed down the hair, and bend the ends under.
  5. Ironing Damp Hair. If you hear a sizzling sound or see steam, well…it ain’t good.
  6. Thinking Bigger is Better. Hulking irons ‘make it hard to get to the hairline, where hair tends to be curliest,’ says hairstylist Sebastian Scolarici. Instead, choose a straightener with ceramic or tourmaline plates that are an inch wide. (pssst…Femilady loves T3’s SinglePass Iron)
