Treat Yourself to a FREE Facial Massage

Credit Refinery29

Credit Refinery29

I’m doing this 60-day yoga challenge at my studio and as an early gift to myself I decided to get a little spa treat. The great thing about the treat is that I can pick a facial or a massage depending on my mood once I complete the 60 days, but now that I am halfway through my challenge this lady is hella stressed. I want both, but I can only have one. It’s like Sophie’s Choice and I curse the day I gave myself an option.

Since my yoga challenge is very physically demanding, I know I should go for the massage. But I still want to treat my big face to something.

I have all the goods for an at-home facial, but why am I so much more relaxed when an esthetician does it? The John Tesh/Yanni jams? No. The incense/candle/diffuser scents? No. The little fountain babbling brook sounds? No. Oh, I know…it’s that epic facial massage.

We hold so much tension in our faces, especially when stressed or doing a rigorous workout.

For instance, driving is one of the most stressful thing for me and not because I’m nervous; it’s because people are so spaced out and slow in Seattle (my mom is a Jersey driver and I happened to pick up her “no patience policy”). I often catch myself clenching my jaw the moment someone puts their brakes on through a green light or scoots along like they don’t care when they get to their destination. Move it!

Then I found this oh so weird, but oh so awesome video from Elisa Sung called “Yoga for Your Face” (not sure what that means). Thoroughout the video, Elisa claims that her techniques will de-stress, de-puff, tighten, brighten, and even help with fine lines in less time than a standard commercial break.

I gave it a shot and I am beyond blissed out at the moment. It feels so amazing. Definitely de-stresses.

But what about the other claims? I decided to dig around to see if the promises of de-puffing, tightening, brightening, etc. held any weight.

Refinery29.com interviewed Diane Nakauchi, who is not only the CEO of Japanese beauty brand Koh Gen Do, but is also a registered nurse licensed in facial massage. Here’s what I learned:

According to Nakauchi, facial massage improves the overall health of the skin, increases the lymph and blood flow, and removes toxins and dead skin cells. “The numerous benefits associated with facial massage include increased facial muscle tone; wrinkle reduction; a brighter, more even complexion; reduction of fluids and puffiness; softer skin and increased skin cell renewal. This all adds up to the ‘glow.'”

