Best Eye Makeup Remover: Natural, Cheap, & Effective

derma e eye makeup removerI’m baaaack…

Before I reveal the best eye makeup remover I’ve ever tried, I want to let you know why I’ve been “post flakemaster” this month. I am building a new and improved Female Chaplin site in my free time! Soon I’ll return to 3x/week posts but first I need to light a fire under my bum and finish this site!

But I had to share this golden nugget of health/beauty awesome with you ASAP.

Eye makeup remover is a savior for us makeup maniacs. Prevents am raccoon eyes, brittle lashes, and bloodshot eyes.

And yet, I have had a really tough time finding an effective remover that didn’t consist of crap. I’ve already talked about how I’m not a fan of mineral oil and apparently it’s in a lot of removers.

You definitely don’t want mineral oil’s drying, pore-clogging properties near the delicate eye area. Just say no!

The big baddie, however, that I find in a lot of removers is Quaternium-15. This ingredient has cause quite a stir in the baby shampoo realm (as it should) and after reading the following from NY Daily News I realized I do not want this ish near my eyes:

According to [a] report, obtained by The Associated Press…quaternium-15, is a preservative that kills bacteria by releasing formaldehyde. Formaldehyde, used as a disinfectant and embalming fluid, was declared a known human carcinogen…by the U.S. National Toxicology Program. Formaldehyde also is a skin, eye and respiratory irritant.

Grrrrr…this is upsetting. And what makes this worse is that most natural removers I tried were ineffective. They required tons of rubbing and scrubbing, which horrifies my lady crush Lisa Eldridge. Don’t upset her with all that pulling!

But like Epic Hurdle Fail Girl I never give up. And I finally struck gold.

It’s derma e’s Evenly Radiant Makeup Remover.

This fragrance-free, oil-free formula safely removes makeup, including waterproof varieties, to leave skin fresh and free of oily residues. Chamomile and Cucumber extracts soothe, tighten and refresh while Eyebright extract protects skin against irritation. Bilberry extract promotes healthy circulation while Green Tea delivers important antioxidants. Suitable for all skin types and for those who wear contact lenses.

And it’s cheap business. Around $12 for a nice size bottle, it’s a steal.

I also really love the concentrated gel consistency. You use less product but it does so much more than most removers.

While it’s preferable, it isn’t perfect. It has “Phenoxyethanol” and “Ethylhexylglycerin” listed as its last two ingredients which aren’t Femilady favs. But this little pinch of dubiousness doesn’t interrupt my beauty sleep primarily because they’re at the bottom of the ingredient list and I wash my face immediately after I remove makeup. And Paula’s Choice is down with it, so that’s cool.

I get derma e at my hippie co-op and I have seen it at Whole Foods. But you can always order it online at derma.com or amazon.com.

